A Better Tomorrow – Summer Trip 2007

img_3258.jpg

Canon HK called this morning and my camera was repaired and ready to go. That was fast. Unfortunately it turns out my lens was also damaged. Specifically the aperture mechanism. The good news was that it could be easily repaired for not too much money. The bad news is they didn’t have the parts in Hong Kong and wouldn’t get them in until Ann and I had already left to Shanghai. So I decided to hold off on the lens repair until I got home to Japan. I took my camera back, took out my Sigma 18-50mm 2.8 EX DC and Canon 100mm f/2 USM and this is how I fared.

img_3172.jpg
Victoria Harbour

I spend so much time with the 10-22 I forgot what it was like to shoot with an aperture as wide as 2.8 or 2. But at least I could shoot above ISO 100.

img_3255.jpg
HK Space Museum

IMG_3108
Entrance to underground Sogo in Tsim Sha Tsui.

img_3176.jpg
The Clock Tower.

IMG_3331
Kimberly Rd.

img_3241.jpg
Victoria Harbour.

As the sun went down, Ann and I met up with her brother in Central, and took a minibus up the hill to eat. The food was fantastic, but what struck me most were 670ml bottles of beer for $10HKD ($1.30). I can’t remember the name, probably due to $10HK beers. It was Soderburg, Sodemburg, something like that. Basically an even cheaper version of Carlsberg. That’s quite an achievement in itself. After that her brother went home as classes have already begun in Hong Kong, and Ann and I went back to Lan Kwai Fong.

img_3340.jpg
In line for the minibus

img_3373.jpg
Lan Kwai Fong

img_3362.jpg
Kowloon

img_3358.jpg
Central

img_3352.jpg
Ann and her brother

Tomorrow its off to Macao for the weekend.

~ by foomfoom on August 31, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
