Hong Kong – Winter Trip 2007

img_5373.jpg

So I went to Hong Kong again. I had 16,000 frequent flier miles with JAL about to expire on Dec 31st. Unfortunately you can’t go very far with only 16,000 miles. My choices were between anywhere in Japan (was thinking either Okinawa or Hokkaido) or to Korea. Just when I’d settled on Hokkaido, I got wind that JAL was doing a %20 off campaign which meant a trip to China (20,000 miles) was now within reach. It would be cheaper to spend a week in Hong Kong than it would to stay in Japan for a week anyways. So I picked a week to take off school and this is what happened.

img_5329.jpg

To get to KIX, rather than taking JR to Tennoji and taking the JR Airport express, I took Kintetsu to Nanba and splurged the extra couple hundred yen for the “Rapi:t” special express on Nankai. I didn’t have to fight for a seat and it was fast and quiet. Like a mini-shinkansen, 40 minutes to KIX.

img_5333.jpg
KIX

I got into Hong Kong in the afternoon, met Ann, and headed to Tsim Sha Tsui. The first thing we did was grab some dim sum at the same place we went when I arrived in the summer. We just barely caught the tail end of dim sum, so they were out of some of my favorites, namely XO radish cakes.

img_5336.jpg
Ann doing the ordering.

img_5344.jpg
Cha siu so and gai lan with oyster sauce fer dippin’.

img_5346.jpg
Fried cheung fan.

img_5349.jpg
Lo mai gai.

Afterwards we hopped over to Harbour City, and then over to Knutsford Terrace for drinks.

img_5369.jpgimg_5361.jpg
Harbour City

img_5372.jpg
Ann breaking the speed barrier. Or crappy shaky hands.

img_5381.jpg
The Peninsula Hotel.

img_5414.jpg
Turkish bar.

img_5409.jpgimg_5420.jpg
That Corona plays on Hispanic stereotypes.

IMG_5397
Knutsford Terrace.

~ by foomfoom on December 6, 2007.

One Response to “Hong Kong – Winter Trip 2007”

  1. Dammit man, I’m jealous of the Hong Kong goodness. But then again, DEFORMED MAN ENVIES NO ONE

Leave a Reply

